1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help speeding up condo plowing

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by plow this, Jan 10, 2010.

1. plow this

plow this Junior Member

Im new to plowing condos this year most of my plowing has been open lots, lots of wide open spaces, now I have to plow several drives and very narrow alley between buildings. I am back dragging each drive and most are to short and narrow to pull straight back so I have to back drag at and angle with blade angled. My technique so far sucks to much left behind and its taking several passes per drive, any advice would be appreciated so I can cut my time down, Im plowing with 2500 Hd reg. cab and 7 6" meyer. After I back drag and then clear drive I have alot of crumb pushed back into already cleared drive that have rolled off. Thanks!
  2. show-n-go

show-n-go Senior Member

The condo's that we used to do had really short driveways too, We always had the sidewalk crew snow blow them and we only plowed the driving lanes. Sounds like you need a smaller rig like a 4 wheeler or something.
  3. plow this

plow this Junior Member

A smaller vehicle would be ideal, Bobcat would be sweat, Im a subcontractor and I just go where they send me, someplace different ever snow. Im stuck with what I have not what I have is bad its just not ideal.
  4. mycirus

mycirus Senior Member
    from Mass

Put wings on your plow.
  5. cj7plowing

cj7plowing Senior Member

I would say wings or a back dragging blades to get down the the blacktop. If your a sub dont worry if it takes you a little extra time as long as it gets done right.
  6. plow this

plow this Junior Member