1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help pricing chemicals for sidewalk

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by guitarman2420, Dec 27, 2011.

1. guitarman2420

guitarman2420 Junior Member

I am totally new in the snow removal arena. I am a landscaper that has been in business @ 5 years and I purchased a snow plow this season to support a new large contract that I have for a town house community. I have another opportunity for snow removal of the sidewalks in another community. The dimensions are 3000 feet by 5 feet @ 15k sq feet. I'm estimating 25 bags of chemical at $8.05 a bag for Eco-Safe Ice Melt from my local supplier. My question is what should I charge for applying it? The supplier indicated that 2 X the cost of the chemicals was appropriate. That sounds high. I can run a spreader over the entire sidewalk area in @ 30 minutes. Any help would be appreciated. I am figuring $300 for the snow removal itself. The snow in Mid-Virginia is episodic, no one wants a contract for regular snow removal - just pay as you go. Typical snow is 3-4", with an occasional dump of 8-12". In the past 3 years we have had one large snow of 8-12".
  2. Boomer123

Boomer123 Senior Member

3. guitarman2420

guitarman2420 Junior Member

Is a regular, commercial type, broadcast spreader, fully opened, suitable for this kind of job, or is there a better tool? Also, to clear the sidewalk, what would be a good, cost effective option? I have a Wright Stander mower unit. I understand you can get a plow for the front of it for @ 2k. Has anyone used something like this for sidewalks, or would a snow blower be the answer?
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2011
  4. Wayne Volz

Wayne Volz Senior Member