1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

help please

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by drew gemma, Jan 20, 2005.

1. drew gemma

drew gemma Junior Member
    from 4

Ok I am new to snow plowing. I want to know what I need to accomplish the following. I have a 2004 f250 psd 6 sp long bed. I want to plow residential and be able to spread salt and or grit/ sand. Money is important but I will spend top dollar for the best equipment. Plow figure maybe a boss v plow or a blizzard power plow with the adjustable wings. Definetly goign with the poly blade either way. Secondly a spreader and here is where I really don't know anything. I guess a low mount or hitch mount spreader is the best option? Just want a simple spreader that works and is effective for residential and possibly small commercial accounts. Thanks for your help I know newbie questions are a pain. How expensive is safewalk ice melt?

2. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

If you are doing mainly residential then I would not buy a V blade and Blizzzard does not make a poly. I feel the snoway with the down pressure would be the best for doing residential as it would back drag best. If you want to spread something other then bagged salt you will need a good spreader with a conveyor belt on the bottom. A Fisher or Western Pro Flow 2. Some of the cheaper spreaders might work with a vibrator kit. It has been posted here that people have had some luck using them.

3. Makndust

Makndust Senior Member