1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help, please. E47 Rebuild Problems

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by pstutcher, Jan 9, 2009.

1. pstutcher

pstutcher Junior Member

I've done an extensive search on this site and have not found a problem that is matching mine. I'm hoping someone out there has seen this one before.

An old E47 plow pump that I've used for years. I'm not a pro and only do my driveway and some neighbors so the plow doesn't see much use. Nevertheless, it was very old and tired.

In any case, slowly over time it started having trouble angling side-to-side and would sometimes stick all the way right. Most recently, it stopped holding the plow up and then wouldn't raise the plow at all.

I figured it was time for a rebuild. I did a lot of research, bought the manual and a master seal kit and got started. I found some crud in the system, but not much and none of the seals seemed to be damaged. There was lots of water in the system though so flushing the it out was long overdue. After some time, I figured out that my A valve was bad and not holding fluid to raise the plow and in messing with it the wire had broken off of the solenoid, so I get those new and installed them - raise/hold problem fixed!

OK, so I get it back together and reinstalled on the tractor and find that I'm still having trouble with left/right. Magnetism at solenoids is good, wires are good, switch is good, cylinders and hoses are good, the pivot mechanism on the A frame is not jammed and as far as I can tell the connectors are good.