1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help picking out a plow

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by DodgeGuy, Nov 13, 2007.

1. DodgeGuy

DodgeGuy Member

Hello all, I'm new here. :waving:

Now with that out of the way, I have a few questions as I am new to this whole plowing thing.
    Right now, I live at a house with a long drive way, 500 feet or so, with a hill and a turn around spot, 3 car garage. In previous years, its been plowed by a company, the problem is that we were spending to much on it, when I would end up shoveling a good portion myself, becuase our drive was the last on his list, so by the time he got around to it, it was maybe a day later.

Anyways, so this year we would like to plow it ourselves. This is where the questions come in. I have a 1999 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Sport, what plow do you think would go best on this truck? I am looking to buy used since my budget is tight. Like only $1000 tight. Is this even possible if I buy used? We really don't want to use a service as this driveway is by defualt shared with a neighbor even though we own it, so we get stuck with their plow bills, and they tell them to plow for a 1/2 inch of snow and they plow it. So any help fitting a plow to this truck is appreciated.

Thank you for putting up with my long winded explaination and all the questions.
  2. iceyman

iceyman 2000 Club Member

im pretty sure the front bumper will have to be modified to fit a boss or meyer. thats what a dealer told me. look at the snowbear or another personal plow. might be able to find a used one for cheap.
  3. DodgeGuy

DodgeGuy Member

Yep, I am prepared to modify the bumber if I have to. Darn sport bumper makes everything troublesome.