1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

!!Help!! never priced something this way before.

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by Joesno, Dec 5, 2009.

1. Joesno

Joesno Senior Member

hey guys.
    ive been plowing for two years now and am still fiarly new to the buisness. I just recently put in a bid for a small appartment complex for mowing and landscape maintenece, snow plowing and salting. The property is a little out of my way so i told the guy im going to come in higher than anybody elses prices. (keep in mind that i already mow and maintaine the owner/developers home and he knows and likes the work we do).
    we actually ended up getting the contract but i bidded the snow removal on a per push basis.

heres the problem: He wants a set amount for the whole winter. ive never done pricing like this before and no im not new to commercial plowing. my question is whats the average plowable events that we get in ohio? specifically southern ohio.

the specifics:

-12 appartments each with small 30' drives.
    - sidewalks shoveled
    - sidewalks and drives salted.
    i bid this at $420.00 per time i come and plow. and an extra $72.00 for salt.

anything will help im thinking well have about 20 events tops so around $9000.00 for the whole season.???? does this sound right.
  2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Try this and see if it sounds good to you:

Take the average annual snowfall for your area; divide by your "trigger" (ie: 2 or 3"); then multiply by your "per event "price". This SHOULD give you a decent seasonal price.