1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help needed with rear-facing floodlight install...

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by fiveoboy01, Feb 13, 2010.

1. fiveoboy01

fiveoboy01 Senior Member

I am tired of not being able to see behind me when backing up. I want to install a rear-facing light system of soome sort, just not sure what I should use. I'm going to be installing a back rack in the next few weeks and I want to mount them there. On the bumper is out of the question, as I back into snowbanks all too often.

What are your guys' recommendations? I want something that will light up the night.. I'm a mechanic as well so mounting and wiring these up will be no issue for me, I'm also wondeirng if I should install a second battery in the truck or if the single battery will handle it. The plow and salter beat up the battery pretty good the way it is.

Price really doesn't matter much, I want quality components that hold up to vibration and cold and I'll pay whatever for them.

Truck is an '06 F250 5.4 if that makes any difference.

Thanks in advance.

2. lawnproslawncar

lawnproslawncar Senior Member

I'm gonna throw out a smart a$$ comment and tell you to go buy a Ebling pull plow and mount the lights on there! Especially if you are truely into buying quality components. Haha

Seriously though, what about mounting them in the rear stake pockets? I guess I would suggest adding the second battery for the plow motors sake.

3. ShorePower

ShorePower Senior Member

My rear lights