1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

HELP meyer e 47

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by wendel, Jan 10, 2010.

1. wendel

wendel Junior Member

this is my first year of plowing. i just got a 6 ft 6 inch meyer plow with a e 47 pump not in bab shape. well i got it all hooked up. and without plow on front the pump went up. but i thought it was slow. than hooked plow up and will raise some but not off the ground. and will not angle. motor seems to work well. im try to flush it with kero. i read on this site. someone told me it mite be low in fluid any help with this thanks and can i use ATF in this pump after i flush it:

2. dchr

dchr Senior Member

Be sure to flush the whole system and not just the pump. I would not recommend using ATF-especially on an E47-spend the dough on a quality plow fluid. After you flush and fill,see what happens. If it is still slow/not raising let us know and we can help you from there. Check ALL your wiring-especially the grounds.
    Good luck and welcome to the site--ton's of great info. here-just use the search feature.

3. Kenyou

Kenyou Senior Member

Welcome to Plow Site wendel
    After you start reading the back posts you will see that your questions have been answered over and over.

To Flush the system: It's the same as changing fluid but you may have to do it over and over depending how dirty it is.
    After emptying the pump, rams, hoses and cleaning the filters, fill the pump with Naptha or Mineral Spirits.
    Cycle all functions of the pump with the plow controls for a few times and then empty it all out again into a clean container this time and each time you do it to see if it is getting cleaner.