1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help me with which snowblower to buy...

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by RJC, Aug 25, 2003.

1. I am going to buy a snowblower, and need some advice. I have never used one before so my knowledge is limited. This unit will be used for my own (large) driveway and a family member or two as well. I would like to buy a good sized one, possibly a 2 stage. I have seen units with track and tires but don't know which is better.
    Any help you can give is much appreciated. I thought I would buy early while there is a good selection.
    I have a local Sears store that sells a 11hp 30" unit for $1299. The salesman said he thinks it is built by Husqvarna but isn't sure.
    I really don't want to buy a junk machine that I will have to sell in a couple of years due to problems. I have found in the past that usually a little extra spent is worth it when it comes to equipment.

Thanks Guys...
  2. wyldman

wyldman Member

I don't think Sears (or Craftsman) stuff is made by Husqvarna.It is made by MTD.They are OK,but not built as well as some of the other big brands.

A Honda,Toro,or Bolens would be my choice.They are built much stronger than the cheaper MTD stuff,but be prepared to pay a premium for it.Other brands which are made by MTD are Crafstman,Mastercraft,Yardman,and Snoflite.

The track models will go through just about anything,but are much harder to manuever,and costly to repair when they start siezing up.I'd get a large rubber tired model,and add a set of chains.
  3. snowplowjay

snowplowjay Banned