1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help me select a plow

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by PLM-1, Nov 29, 2004.

1. PLM-1

PLM-1 Senior Member

I am in the process of buying a GMC 2500hd crewcab with the duramax/allison.

I would like to get some sort of v-plow. That is a good choice isn't it? I also can't decide on which brand. I want one that doesn't have a lot of junk hanging off the bottom of the truck because I also have a farm and need all the ground clearance i can get. but i want what works best with the least amount of headaches!

I am new to this industry. i usually just mow grass but i am getting more and more inquires about plowing so i thought i would give it a shot.

Thanks for the help
  2. ultimate plow

ultimate plow PlowSite.com Addict
    from N. IL

Western MVP Ultra mount!!! Do you have timberens because you will most likely need them on the chevys...
  3. salopez

salopez Senior Member

in my research the western plows with the ultra mount seem to offer the most off season ground clearance. the only problem that you are going to run into is finding a dealer that is willing to mount a v-plow on that truck. i believe the v's are too heavy for a crew cab. the largest plow i could put on my extended cab was a 7.5 because of the d-max.

hope this helps.
  4. Bldrs83

Bldrs83 Member

Sounds like you might be plowing on your own, go with the vee blade. I know of several guys with vee blades that plow with Chevy crew cabs with no problems. I personally like the BOSS Vee blades. I'm sure any of the "major" manufactures make good products, your decision might come down to what the best and closest dealership in your area sells.
  5. oldmankent