1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help me pick a new plow

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Moose's Mowing, Nov 27, 2014.

1. Moose's Mowing

Moose's Mowing Senior Member
    from SE PA

I currently have about 20 driveways and I sub myself out for parking lots. I've been using a rebuilt Meyer straight blade setup for the past 4 years or so. Its reliable and simple, but it sucks.....My 8' blade is a little large for some of my smaller driveways and it's not very productive on lots. My 7.5' blade works well on drives but is pathetic in lots. Changing blades throughout the storm isn't much of an option due to my route (and its a PITA)

I've seen the speedwing in action and was impressed. I assume the Prodigy is the same plow but in red. One of those would be good but might be too large to squeeze in my real nasty driveways.

So I'm thinking a V plow would work. When it's in scoop/V mode, it'd be shorter than or close to, my current 8' straight blade so it'll go well in the crappy driveways I have. It'll also hopefully be more productive in lots.

It'll be going on a 2004 Chevy 2500 reg cab long bed. I run about 1000lbs of counter weight in the rear with my current setup but can easily increase it if need be. I have various sizes of poured concrete cubes I chain down in the bed.

SO, I've been looking at the various V plows by Fisher, Boss, Western & Meyers. I'm not brand loyal, I'm looking for a reliable and affordable V plow. I don't plow quite enough to justify anything super high end and expensive. Which would you pick for me and why?

2. BUFF

BUFF PlowSite Fanatic
    from FR NoCo