1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

help im new to this

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by kevinwebster1, Jun 5, 2004.

1. kevinwebster1

kevinwebster1 Member

so winter isnt for a while but i was wanting to figure some stuff out. right now i own a lawn care and landscaping company. that only lasts for the summer though. so why not get a snow plow company up in the winter? i was playin with some brochures and such and saw a plow that is called the C something. it like folds down so you can back up and pull snow away from stuff. i was thinking that that would be good for doin driveways and stuff. it would be an easy way to make a few bucks and only take a few minutes. also, how do you go about getting commercial property? what should i start out with in my first year of snow plowing business.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

The plow you looked at is a Hiniker plow. Before you jump into plowing snow, spend some time in research. The equipment is expensive and additional insurance will add substantially to your present to your present policy. This isn't an "easy way to make a few bucks". I'd really suggest you get some experience with driveways before going after commercial. You likely won't make any profit the first year. Lets say Olathe gets enough snow to plow five times a year. The "average" driveway gets you $30 per trip. That $150 per year per driveway. Just to pay for a $4500 plow, you need 30 driveways. And that's not counting gas, wear and tear, repairs, insurance, salary (for yourself) or coffee.