1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help. high school bid.

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by haybaler, Apr 6, 2007.

1. haybaler

haybaler Member

ok, I've been plowing for 4 years now and have about 75 accounts. mostly residentail and a couple small commercial. For next year I don't want to take any more residential, I want one or two big commercial. I have an oppertunity to bid on the local high school. I've never bid on anything this large and don't want to lose my shirt. there's one main parking lot, maybe 1/2acre, then two small lots and the sidewalks are paved and can be plowed. the school currently does it themselves with one 1ton, john deere 4700 (little bucket no plow, back blade for walks) they have a big loader but couldn't't get it to run at all this year. I have two 3/4 ton diesels and kubota 4200 with 8' plow. if I get account I would buy a 1ton and put a rear blade and chains on tractor. They want an estimate for every 6" of snow, and a separate bid for sanding as needed. they said it take 2 guys (truck/tractor) 3-4 hours for a small 4" storm. The only time a loader would be needed is if we had a really big snow year, witch I don't see happening. the winters have been warmer around here and more snow melts between storms anyway. So, how much per plow 600, 900??
  2. RLM

RLM PlowSite.com Addict