1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help from the Plowsite gods.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by Freezing Cold, Oct 13, 2009.

1. Freezing Cold

Freezing Cold Junior Member
    from Kansas

Okay, I'm a total newbie. Please have mercy on my ignorance! I am getting into snow removal this season. I've got 1 commercial account and some residential so far. In my area it will be easier at first to grow in residential; however as I gain experience there will be commercial opportunities.

My first question is on how to set up my equipment. I have the following

06 Chevy 2500 crew 4x4

DX45 case farmall with cab and heat/ac with a loader. This is hydro with a loader. I have hydraulic ports on the front for accessories and to the rear for accessories.

What should I do? Set up the tractor or the truck? I won’t have a tight route at first.

2. 06HD BOSS

06HD BOSS 2000 Club Member

Youre gonna find that truck will be difficult to maneuver in smaller residentials. But if you have a spread out route the tractor isnt the quickest thing to be driving from account to account. Save the money over new and buy a used blade for the Chevy and if next year you can tighten up your route youll have money saved to set up the tractor.

3. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

8' to 8.6' plow on the truck. Brand is less important.

4. terrapro

terrapro PlowSite Veteran
    from MI

How do some of you guys have accounts already but have never plowed before? How in the world did you come up with a number to tell them if you have no idea how to bid because you have never plowed?

5. 2COR517

2COR517 PlowSite Fanatic