1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help for Newbie F250 of F350

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by lineman88, Dec 11, 2003.

1. lineman88

lineman88 Junior Member

As a newbie, I was wondering if I could ask a general question of the members for their advice on a truck purchase. I'm trading my Tundra for a snow plow capable truck - planning on 4x4 Supercab SB 5.4L with 8' Fisher HD (popular in this area). I plan to plow my office parking lot (25 spaces) and driveway 400') and I'll be using the truck for general commuting (10K/yr). I'm concerned that I don't need the extra suspension of the 350 and since I'll be using it for mostly non plowing driving, I'd like the best ride. How do the plowing abilities compare? And how does the dry pavement ride compare? Thanks in advance for any advice/suggestions.
  2. Huften Lawn

Huften Lawn Junior Member
    from CT

do the two have the same front suspensions? I believe the 350 has a straight axle. Not sure though.
  3. lineman88

lineman88 Junior Member

In the 2004 year they are similar. I believe the 350 has coils up front and the 250 leafs. I really haven't been able to get a clear description on the Ford or other auto pages. Maybe one of the experienced members know.
  4. NJ Plowman

NJ Plowman Senior Member

All my trucks are old, late 80's to be exact, but I found that nothing beats a straight front axle woth leafs for plowing. Leafs are better that coils and a straight front axle is better than independent front suspension for plowing (of course, this is only my opinion, I don't want to start a fight!). The heavier the truck the better!
  5. sbrennan007

sbrennan007 Senior Member