1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help first time bidding hourly

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by picknick15, Aug 24, 2009.

1. picknick15

picknick15 Junior Member

Please help I am new to the whole commercial bidding, and I am bidding on a subdivision with 3 miles of roads. two swipes on all the roads. they want it plowed every time they get 2-3 inch. I will probably also get like 6-8 residential lots from this so I really want to get the bid but I dont want to not make money do you guys have any idea what to charge per hour and how long it may take. I am using a 05 F-250 with an 8' curtis plow.
  2. redman6565

redman6565 PlowSite.com Addict

do you have any prior plowing experience with a pick up truck, so that you can gauge your productivity in an hours time?
  3. picknick15

picknick15 Junior Member

yes I do I have plowed residential lots for the past 3 seasons, but this is my first commercial job of this size, and my first time bidding hourly.
  4. salopez

salopez Senior Member

where in western md are you located? prices vary greatly over a short distance around here.
  5. picknick15

picknick15 Junior Member

at the very tip of maryland in Garrett County
  6. redman6565

redman6565 PlowSite.com Addict

no i dont mean to insult you but i mean, can you guage from driveways what you can produce linear footage wise per hour? I mean its hard for people to guess your abilities is all. i can shoot numbers out all day but that doesn't mean that they are accurate for you and cover your expenses.
  7. picknick15

picknick15 Junior Member

well I can say this I do my drive way in about 15 min and I have about 200' of drive way and 5 parking slots.
  8. Brant'sLawnCare