1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Help bidding trucking company

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by chevyman51, Sep 2, 2010.

1. chevyman51

chevyman51 Senior Member

I have a chance to plow the lot of a trucking company that i mow but I have no idea how to bid it. I have never done a commercial lot this size. The guy who did it before did it for $55 an hour to plow and $200 for 700 lbs of salt. They want it bid per hour. I have a pick up with a 7.5 plow. Thanks for any help

Dawes.jpg

2. JD Dave

JD Dave PlowSite Fanatic

Sorry wrong post.

3. chevyman51

chevyman51 Senior Member

Let me refrase that I have never done by the hour before and just need a ballpark figure.

4. Fourbycb

Fourbycb Senior Member

75.00 an hour pending on there /your trigger depth as far as salting what equipment do you have for this bagged salt and a broadcast spreader, by hand , a tailgate spreader. If you get those trucks driving around on the lot before you get it plowed then your work will be harder than normal. Salting the whole lot and road leading into the property not less than 350.00- 375.00

5. chevyman51

chevyman51 Senior Member

i have a sno ex 575 tailgate spreader

6. chevyman51

chevyman51 Senior Member

thanks for the info Fourbycb

7. cmo18

cmo18 Senior Member

your going to need more then just a 7.5ft plow

8. chevyman51

chevyman51 Senior Member

I kno I am gettin ready to buy another truck

9. Burkartsplow

Burkartsplow PlowSite Veteran

U are going to need a bulk salt spreader to make any money on the lot salting. You are just throwing money away with bagged.

10. cmo18

cmo18 Senior Member