1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Has anyone used the rubber cutting edges for driveways

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by new guy 79, Dec 29, 2009.

1. new guy 79

new guy 79 Junior Member

Has any one used the rubber cutting edges for driveways. Or would a backdrag blade work better. I'm only doing driveways ow and I seem to be skimming and leaving about 3/4 inch snow on drives. I've already removed theshoes and no difference. I have an older 7 foot 6 western plow . Do I just need a newcutting edge. What do you guys thnk?I'm new to the industry ad have alot of Questions I do't want to be the schmo who cuts everyone elses bids and doesa crap job.

2. Rc2505

Rc2505 PlowSite.com Addict

Check to be sure you have slack in your chain when the plow is all the way down.

3. Kubota 8540

Kubota 8540 PlowSite.com Addict

Can't imagine that the rubber works very well for anything? I'm sure a back drag edge would help or sure couldn't hurt anything especially when the plow has no down pressure. It would have to be one seriously screwed up cutting edge or a very uneven driveway to be leaving 3/4" of snow with a 7'-6" plow. Maybe with a 9-10' plow like mine would be possible on some drives. Definitely check to make sure you have slack in your chain when the plow is fully down.Also make sure your plow is in the float position at the controller.

4. jmc

jmc Junior Member