1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Hardest youv'e seen it snow?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Big Dog D, Dec 12, 2005.

1. Big Dog D

Big Dog D PlowSite.com Addict

How hard have you seen it snow before? I have been plowing commercially for over 20 years in the central Mass area and never remember it snowing as hard as it did last Friday. We had about 6 inches fall in 2 hours accompanied with wind & thunder! I just never recall that kind of rapid accumulation before.

What's your story??
  2. norrod

norrod Senior Member

The Great Blizzard of 77'.

December 1977, Western New York.

We were plowing at a MRC plant for 36 hours straight with snowfall pushing 4" an hour. Could barley see the plow, much less the lanes.
  3. dirt digger

dirt digger Senior Member

2 years ago I was skiing at Jay Peak on the Vermont-Canada border. Got on the ski lift and by the time I got off at the top I had 2 inches of fresh powder on my lap, the trip down the hill wasn't easy either, seeming as no one could see more then 5 feet in front of them.
  4. mole

mole Senior Member