1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Hand Controller Shifter Mount - Western

Discussion in 'Equipment, Tools & Vehicle Pictures' started by Willybak, Nov 1, 2012.

1. Willybak

Willybak Junior Member

Hello,

I am new to the plowing business, just got my Western Wide-Out installed, and was very excited when I saw the totally cool looking Western Plow Hand Controller. It is indeed well thought out with respect to button placement and function... and if you are comfortable with having it lay on the seat or in your lap, the deal is complete... for you. But for me... the whole thing seems unworkable if you are steering with your left hand and shifting with the right hand while at the same time fumbling around with the controller... trying to perform some kind of syncopated juggling act.

I think Meyers has a good start on it with their somewhat automated system that can be synced to the shifter so it performs some things without user input. Yet.. even that has limitations.

I have seen a couple of patents online that show the controller buttons built into the shifter handle or other areas of the steering column. Pretty cool, but not in the cards unless a Plow Mfgr and the automakers get into bed together, and I don't think that is going to happen. But... stranger things have happened, like the Ford 5th wheel package.

As I thought more about the Western Hand Controller I became convinced that the right hand steering/controller/shifter routine needed to be further refined.

Since Western's "lay it in your lap" solution appears to be the current limit of their their thinking on the Hand Conroller, I am taking things into my own hands.... or rather... OUT of my right hand.