1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Guard Dogs or Wardens??

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by M & MD Lawn, Oct 30, 2011.

1. M & MD Lawn

M & MD Lawn Senior Member

I am a little low on funds this season and new bfg's are NOT in the budget. Its my first year plowing and the tires I have on the truck are not gonna cut it especially as a first year. My question is, which treadright? I am looking at the guard dogs or wardens. As of now I am planning to just run them in the winter and come spring/summer I will get a set of michelins LTX2 and put on my other set of rims for summer as i do ALOT of driving.

It looks like the guard dogs will grip well but im not sure if they will have alot of road noise vs. the wardens are like the BFG's which I have had before.

I plan to get the Kedge grip on either one i buy, just looking for some input and if anyone has opinions on either

Thanks,
    Paul

2. larboc

larboc Member

The guard dogs (MTR copy) look sweeter and will dig well. The wardens (bfg a/t) copy will get better traction on snow and snow pack and still have the ability to stay on top. There isn't as much rubber in the mtr so don't expect it to last as long.
    In my experience the bfg tread will pack snow into it in certain situations and gives you a snow on snow pack that really hooks up well. You can also air them down and drive on several feet thick snow where as the mtr's tend to dig too quickly like most mud terrain-hight void tires will.

I don't have any experience plowing with either, but this winter I'm probably going to have to invest in something for the plow truck as my dominators are getting down on tread.