1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Greed, Laziness and blatantly overloading a C-1500

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by chazmanian, Dec 13, 2007.

1. chazmanian

chazmanian Member

I'm an idiot....Worse than that maybe.

So I have a 1992 Chevy reg cab C-1500 just a base model Cheyenne thats pretty clean and runs and drives real nice.

This is my first year plowing and I have two accounts that require lots and lots of sand.
    To the tune of about 1-1.5 ton's each per occurance. So in essence there are days where I need to drop 2-3 tons of sand/salt mixture through my western pro-flow 2.

Obviously the two accounts that I have are probably to big for a guy with a little half ton truck and a tailgate mounted spreader.....But this is my first year and I'm learning as I'm earning and will certainly be upgrading to a bigger truck next year.

So in short I have added a set of timbrens to the rear of my truck in order to carry the wieght of the spreader (400#'s) and enough sand to fill my hopper (1000#'s).

Well I got a case of stoopid. real stoopid and filled my hopper and had the guy put sonme in the bed as well. The truck rode and drove just fine so for the past few days I would pick up a load that I'm embarrassed and ashamed to even post here....... Unloaded over the scales at 6050#'s. Tare wieght at scale loaded up and ready to spread...8800-8900#'s.