1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Good or bad idea?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by superdog1, Nov 1, 2011.

1. superdog1

superdog1 Senior Member

I was thinking about running an advertisement stating I will do residential driveways for $1.25 a foot. Now, before you all kill me and call me a low baller, I need to explain a few things!. I am new to the business, just bought a 93 GMC dually with a Western 9ft plow. My idea is that I need to generate some income and residential driveways are normally fairly easy (The average snowfall here is around 3" to 5 " at a time) and I would concentrate on getting as many driveways as possible in the same area, development, sub-division etc. so that I wouldn't be driving all over the place to get the job done.

The other part of this is that I would get my name out and hopefully add some new landscaping customers for Spring work like cutting grass, hedges, hardscaping work or whatever they need? I did the math and as long as I can get 6 or 7 drives in each area, I can actually make a few $$!

The average driveway in my area is right around 9ft wide with a few at the 10ft mark, so with one or two swipes, the work is done and I am off to the next one. It takes me less than 5 minutes to do a 10 ft long on average. At almost every location in my area, I can push it to the right on the way in, back drag it away from the garage for a few feet and then just push it left or back in with the truck and push it to the right or out in the street and then into their yard on either side.

I do realize that in some cases I may run into a snag or two, but overall, I should be able to make it work. Any thoughts?:rolleyes: