1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Gonna Build my own Trk Side Wire Harness Myslef - Any Extra Tips ??

Discussion in 'Truck & Equipment Repair' started by LittleEfrom KC, Oct 18, 2009.

1. LittleEfrom KC

LittleEfrom KC Junior Member

I have a Western Uni-Mount Plow. NO wiring harness for truck side. Plow side DOES HAVE all wiring.
    Gonna buy repair kit (both plugs) set-up for trk side & build my own wiring harness to save money, also because I want it set up a lil different than factory harness ( gonna seperate plow lights from trk lights w/switch, put in seperate battery/solenoid switch to shut off ALL power to plow and controls, etc. )

I'm a very good electrician, skilled mechanic and very skilled all round with anything mechanical and construction.
    The Question I'm asking --- Is there any new updates, add-ons, or do you have any ideas I should keep in mind while doing this ???

I have all Electrical Schematics for Plow and Truck wiring. And I also plan on installing my Relay's (Relay board) etc. INSIDE my truck for easy access.
    Any info is Appreciated -- Thanks, Eric
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2009
  2. LittleEfrom KC

Also -- I Forgot to List -- Truck is a 96 GMC Z-71 4x4 And Plow is a Western Uni-Mount , 2 Plug 9 pin harness. So it has NO Isolation Module. If it did I would buy a Harness !!! And I have a Western Joystick for it. AND -- I have already built my Truck Mount, and installed it. No problems there.

Last edited: Oct 18, 2009
  3. Crash935

Crash935 2000 Club Member

I would just go with the right harness
  4. basher

basher PlowSite Fanatic
    from 19707

What truck?
  5. sechracer

sechracer Senior Member

Basher - 96 GMC