1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Going to look at a used 810 tomorrow...

Discussion in 'Blizzard Plows Discussion' started by Lawnman883, Dec 4, 2008.

1. Lawnman883

Lawnman883 Member

I am new to the blizzard plows. Is there anything in particular i should look for or avoid on a used 810? I think it is from the 2003 time frame. how hard are they to put on and take off the truck? i am used to plowing with westerns, and like how easy they come off, but i like the idea of the 810's features with the expandable wings. please give me any pointers so I dont make a mistake!
    thanks

2. lilweeds

lilweeds PlowSite.com Addict

Nothing more than the usual items on any used blade. Look for things that are bent, missing, damaged. Otherwise you won't be able to tell if everything works unless he still has it wired to his truck.

3. Whitey

Whitey Member

I went from western and boss to blizzards about four years ago, they are super easy to put on and take off. as far as things to look for, look at the center where the cylinders for the wings mount I have had two that the welds broke loose. also if possible run the wings in and out to look for signs of binding. also easy fix but worth a look are the hoses ther are a lot of pinch

4. Lawnman883

Lawnman883 Member

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I bought the plow it has a bad cutting edge and i need a wiring harness for truckside, but other then that it looks alright. Should i attempt a self-install or should i just pay the $450 and have the dealer do it? Is it tough?
    Also if you know of any good places to get blizzard parts listed above please let me know
    Thanks
    -Travis

5. Sharpcut 1

Sharpcut 1 Senior Member