1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Going Rates For Upstate NY

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by nmpcman, Jan 20, 2011.

1. nmpcman

nmpcman Junior Member

I have done some subcontracting in the past with my 2007 GMC Sierra 1500 with a 7' 6" Fisher Minute Mount Plow and was paid by the hour. This is my first year plowing commerical lots on my own. I charge $60/Hr for the truck and a labor rate of $30/Hr for shoveling & salt application. Are these prices in the ball park? Any comments or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
  2. seville009

seville009 Senior Member
    from CNY

I'm just a personal plower (my driveway and neighbors), but I used to work for a property management company and did an analysis one time as to the actual costs of a dedicated plow truck - equipment, insurance, labor, fuel, etc - and came up with, I think, roughly $220 per hour needed to just cover all of the costs. I think that I used a five year recovery rate for the cost of the equipment.

That being said, it all depends on what your own direct costs are (the truck, plow, fuel, etc) and if you could make more money doing something else. If you're covering your costs and are happy with what's left over, then you are probably charging enough.

Since you have work, my guess is that your charges are acceptable to the guy that you are subbing for. You could always test it by starting alot higher the next time someone asks you to do the work, and then see how far down you have to go to get the job.

I pay someone to plow my uncle's driveway (too far away for me to deal with); the annual contract price is $980 (Syracuse).
  3. Mackman

Mackman PlowSite.com Addict
    from S.E. PA