1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Going from flat rate to tiered pricing?

Discussion in 'Bidding & Estimating' started by starspangled6.0, Dec 11, 2013.

1. starspangled6.0

starspangled6.0 Senior Member

Hey guys-

I've been running this business for 4 years now. I've always used a per-time pricing system, and obviously on the big (6"+) storms we go out 2 or 3 times, and charge per-time. One of my advisers who also does snow plowing is telling me I should charge a flat rate per time, and then use a tiered system as the snow piles up. For example, we charge someone $30 for their standard 2" snowfall, then $10 every 2" above that. Is it worth it to switch? Sure, we can make more money, but isn't the headache of measuring each storm and explaining to the little old ladies who depend on you that you're going to triple their cost on a large storm?

2. maxwellp

maxwellp PlowSite.com Addict

I do it that way, .5 to 3 is a Base price. 3.1 to 6 is Base X 1.35 ish. 6.1 to 9 is Middle price X 1.25 ish.
    Over 9 inches is Base price + xx Per hr.

I go as many times as it takes, the other day we had 5 inches of power and I just let it finish. If it was very wet snow I would have done some of them 2x.

3. starspangled6.0

OK. I truly love the simpler way of just staying per time, but the money sure is tempting. Next year, how would you notify your clients that you're changing? A couple of them pay in October for the whole year, so I'll leave them alone.

4. maxwellp