1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

    Dismiss Notice

Going from 3 plug to Fleet Flex

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by TPCLandscaping, Dec 4, 2014.

  1. TPCLandscaping

    TPCLandscaping Senior Member
    Messages: 296

    My dealer seems to be completely uneducated and have told me two different things the last couple times i called.

    I have a 2011 Ram 3500 w/ a Fisher minute mount 1 on it right now. The truck side of the plow was all put on new in March of 2013. Im looking at selling this plow (possibly tomorrow) and I want to put a new XV2 with the fleet flex on it. My other truck has an XV2 and i like to be able to switch plows back and forth in case something breaks.

    So first time i talked to my dealer, i only needed to get new control wiring since my headlight wiring was the same and i could use my mounts.

    I call them back today and the guy now tells me i need all new headlight wiring, and a new 3 port module…the first time they also told me the module was the same.

    The final kicker…they have the plow i want in stock… but they have to order the controller….why would they not have a controller to go with the plow they have in stock, and all the wiring…i'm soooooooo frustrated with this place…..

    wait one more kicker…this place is owned by my wifes family!!!

    Does anyone know what i can keep on the truck to switch over to the new plow?
     
  2. 1olddogtwo

    1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic
    Messages: 11,535

    Mount and headlight plug I think
     
  3. TPCLandscaping

    TPCLandscaping Senior Member
    Messages: 296

    thats what i thought too… but they confused me on my second conversation with them today
     
  4. cubicinches

    cubicinches PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,412

    The module and headlight wiring stay... they're specific to the truck, not the plow. You'll need a fleet flex control harness, truck side battery cable, and the controller.
     
  5. TPCLandscaping

    TPCLandscaping Senior Member
    Messages: 296

    would you guys think that if they would have all that in stock? isn't that plow specific not truck specific?
     
  6. vwmurph

    vwmurph Member
    from Maine
    Messages: 38

  7. TPCLandscaping

    TPCLandscaping Senior Member
    Messages: 296

    I finally got a straight answer… i can keep my headlight harness, my 3 port module and my plow frame mounts..i have to get the new control harness. We will see what happens
     
  8. kimber750

    kimber750 PlowSite Veteran
    Messages: 3,673

    Like Cubic said, you will need truck side battery cable also. This cable carries the two signal wires for fleet flex setups.
     
  9. cubicinches

    cubicinches PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,412

    You got a straight answer at 9:43pm last night... ;)
     
  10. 07PSDCREW

    07PSDCREW Senior Member
    Messages: 863

    I did the same thing you are doing and it was so easy. It's even worth leaving the old stuff in and just leave the old harness unplugged at the module. That way you can run an old style 3 plug plow if ever needed.
     
  11. TPCLandscaping

    TPCLandscaping Senior Member
    Messages: 296

    At 9 this morning i got an answer, at 12:30 tonight i had the new plow assembled and installed!
     
  12. I love your sense of humor CI....
     
  13. djagusch

    djagusch 2000 Club Member
    from mn
    Messages: 2,071

    How much about to switch the wiring over for your situation?
     
  14. TPCLandscaping

    TPCLandscaping Senior Member
    Messages: 296

    Ha i just read back through this morning and figuredout what he was getting at lol


    Thanks cubic!
     
  15. cubicinches

    cubicinches PlowSite.com Addict
    Messages: 1,412

    Thumbs Up

    Glad to hear you're up and running.
     
  16. TPCLandscaping

    TPCLandscaping Senior Member
    Messages: 296

    It was cake!
     
  17. JFon101231

    JFon101231 Senior Member
    from CT
    Messages: 423

    That is scary that your "dealer" doesn't know this. Even worse they are in the family...
     
  18. Ryank

    Ryank Senior Member
    Messages: 109

    i know its a little late but i just recently switched my 97 f350 from mm1 wiring with no module only had the solenoid to brand new fleet flex wiring, so I needed everything...and it cost 600 for all brand new fleet flex wiring and the module, then i found a brand new controller on craigs list for 175 and finally a 2012 stainless 8'6" v plow in great shape for 3000, and before i bought any of this stuff i sold my mm1 plow for 1000 and the old wiring with controller for 300. and did the install on my own. so now both trucks have fleet flex wiring controllers and plows, all interchangeable...