1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

GMC Transmission Fluid

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by J.onathan, Jan 22, 2016.

1. J.onathan

J.onathan Junior Member

Hi All!

I have a 2006 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 5.3L (4L60E auto) that I recently put a plow on and started doing some plowing, we've only had a few snow events. The truck has 260,000km (160,000 miles) Runs great shifts great.

I took it in to my local mechanic for an oil change and a general inspection. I do all my own work typically on my vehicles but wanted a true mechanic to look it over (I'm not a mechanic by trade) so I know everything is in good working order.

They noted that the transmission fluid was dark (almost black) and recommenced a transmission fluid and filter change. (I've only had the truck since August and do not know previous maintenance on it) I know they're not trying to up sell me services as they are aware I do my own work. I'm hesitant as I've read horror stories about transmission fluid services on a high mileage transmission and the tranny going out after the service.

Do I drop the pan and change filter and replace the fluid that came out, or do I also evacuate the rest of the fluid in the cooler/lines/torque converter (not a pressurized flush)? Or do I wait for the season to be over and then do the fluid/filter? I'd rather it blow up after winter.

Thanks in advance.
    Sorry for long post.

2. ratherbfishin

ratherbfishin Senior Member

Two schools of thought....some say a flush, especially on a truck with that amount of miles just stirs up the crap and pushes it into the valve body etc. that is my belief also. Some say the flush is good because it gets all the torque converter etc.