1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Giving up

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by Banksy, Oct 27, 2005.

1. Banksy

Banksy PlowSite Veteran

Well I heard back from my insurance agent this morning and she said that they have no coverage to give me for commercial plowing. Out of curiosity I asked if I were to have a plow for personal use only, would I be covered in an accident just transporting it.....she said no. So I guess I'm going to have to pass on the sub work I wanted to do for $100 an hour and not get a plow at all for my truck:mad: . I'll just play with my 4 wheelers new plow I guess. If I get a CDL I could drive for the city I'm a cop for and make $21 an hour driving a dump with a 10' Frink. How is that for pay? There would be no over head with that deal. I talked to the street supervisor and he'd hire me if I had a CDL.
  2. NEAL

NEAL Member

I wouldn't give up yet! When I first started plowing I asked my longtime insurance agency about plowing insurance. They were not very willing to help and basically tried to talk me out of plowing. After some searching I found another local insurance company that was willing to help and promptly switched to them. If you can be making $100.00 an hour as a sub you should search high and low for a new insurance company. Around here subs make about $50.00 an hour.
  3. Andy N.

Andy N. Senior Member

I don't understand? I have insurance, not as a sub, but contractors insurance and I have snowplowing coverage. It is through Erie Insurance Co.
  4. derekbroerse

derekbroerse 2000 Club Member

Mine is thru State Farm, and it is quite reasonable.
  5. Big Dog D

Big Dog D PlowSite.com Addict