1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

getting started plowing

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Etlawn, Nov 29, 2000.

1. Etlawn

Etlawn Junior Member

Im just getting started plowing this year and need a few pointers on how to go about actually plowing. I am working for my bro in law and he sort of explained a little but I was just curious if you guys have any tips to beginners.
    Thanks

2. GeoffD

GeoffD PlowSite.com Veteran

1. Get plenty of sleep.
    2. Bring coffee
    3. Check out chuck's website under snowplowing http://www.chuckschevytruckpages.com/
    4. Watch out for drop offs and ditches.
    5. Most of it you figure out real quick when your out in the cab alone.

Geoff

3. SlimJim Z71

SlimJim Z71 PlowSite.com Addict

1. Take your time... the faster you go, the more likely you are to break something.

2. Take care of your truck and equipment.

3. Come to a complete stop before shifting gears.

4. Those little aluminum poles with reflectors on the ends help... a lot. Use them anywhere you think you'll be unsure where the edges are.

5. Get a warning light. People will still get in your way, but it does help.

6. PAY ATTENTION TO THIS FORUM!!!

-Tim[​IMG]

4. BRL

BRL PlowSite.com - Veteran

Go to http://www.sima.org & buy the training video. That should cover most of the questions you may have & then the rest you will pick up with experience. Go slow and careful until you get the hang of it. Good luck!

5. John Allin

John Allin PlowSite.com Addict

Ditto on BRL.
    The SIMA Video is for guys just starting out, and would be a wise investment on your part.
    Good luck, and welcome to the loony bin.

6. iowastorm

iowastorm Senior Member