1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Getting people cleared out by a certain time

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by Erik1981, Aug 31, 2013.

1. Erik1981

Erik1981 Member
    from MN

This is my first year doing snow removal and I have bee starting to get requests for bids, estimates, etc...
    One question that I have is, how do you guys deal with all the people that want to be out by a certain time?
    Also, do you guys charge more for larger snowfall amounts? If so, how much more and what are the snowfall depths you use for increments of charging more? I hear that 4 inches is kind of the rule, but I am not sure, that does not seem like enough snow to justify charging more?

2. MSS Mow

MSS Mow Senior Member
    from Maine

I schedule them in an order sufficient for getting them all done by the time they need. I don't take on more than I can handle. I charge a "per storm" price, so regardless of how much snow, whether it's 4" or 40", it's the same price. Only you can decide how to price your work. It typically depends on how others do it in your area.

3. grandview

grandview PlowSite Fanatic

Stagger your contracts,Don't go signing up everyone with the same start time.

4. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic

The bottom line is that is pretty much impossible. You never know when it is going to start snowing so there is no guaranty you will have their location done by a set time unless you have 1 hour of work.

5. Erik1981

Erik1981 Member
    from MN

Exactly, what I was thinking. So do you give them a window of time? Example: "we will have your driveway/sidewalks cleared within a 12 hour period following a weather event"

Does that make sense?

6. cet

cet PlowSite Fanatic