1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Getting into residential driveways, need help with polyurethane blade

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by AO8, Jan 24, 2014.

1. AO8

AO8 Junior Member
    from IL

I have a steel blade now and have done some residential driveways with it last snow fall when we got 15" in IL, however I was scared the whole time that I would scratch the concrete. I am going to get a polyurethane blade to put on instead but I'm wondering if all I need is the poly blade or if there is a bar or something else that I need to put on with it.

I've never used poly before only steel so any suggestions/help is welcome, thanks!

Also, has anyone done business with Surface Saver Snow Plow Blades from Toledo OH? Good/Bad reviews?
  2. JustJeff

JustJeff PlowSite.com Addict

Cutting edges will mark up concrete and asphalt, nature of the beast. You don't need to change your BLADE, if you want, you can change your CUTTING EDGE to try and be easier on the concrete. What, do your customers expect their driveways or parking lots to look like brand new after being plowed??? Or you could just buy plow shoes instead of changing out your cutting edge, but that will leave a skim on the surface that you've plowed that will turn into ice unless you're salting as well. Do you actually do this professionally, because your questions sure don't sound like it.
  3. AO8

AO8 Junior Member
    from IL