1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Getting hired as a sub

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by royalrooter77, Jan 30, 2014.

1. royalrooter77

royalrooter77 Junior Member

So from what I've read on these forums the general consensus on getting experience before starting your own company is to work as a sub.

I checked craigslist and the two listings in my area asked for 3 and 5 years plowing experience. Not sure what kind of companies these are if their looking to hire partway though the winter. But I have zero experience.

So my question is how do you find a good company to sub for and what is the preferred arrangements? As a sub are you under the bosses insurance policy or your own? Do you get paid at the time of the event or monthly etc. Also what is the best way to get on with a good strong local company, the CL route, talking to guys in parking lots or is there a better way?

When I do begin plowing I really am not interested in working for some hack, but a professional company I do not have to chase for my payment, but am also not interested in working for a national company either.

Sorry for all the questions, I've been lurking for awhile and am getting idea's for starting a small company in a couple years as my "real" job winds down. I'm located in Connecticut.

2. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member