1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Getting bag salt in the summer

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Rshoemobile, Jun 14, 2010.

1. Rshoemobile

Rshoemobile Junior Member

I'm new at this and will be using bagged salt. I live in the Canton, Ohio area and would like to know where, what type and when I should start getting my salt. I am planning on getting at least 2 -3 pallets and see how that ammount goes. I can always order more or same some for next year. Any help would be appreaciated.

Sampson Property Management

2. Mick76

Mick76 2000 Club Member
    from Maine

Is there any reason why you wouldn't find someone in your area that can load bulk for you?

3. Rshoemobile

I will be using a tailgate and walk behind spreader. I will need to have the salt in bags.

4. leon

leon Senior Member

salt etc.

==================================================================================================================================

you have a posting that will bring many comments:

A lot will depend on how far you actually are from Morton Salt In Painsville, Ohio as you should buy it from the Morton mine directly at the scale house as it is in the off season-being May1- Sept 1. And by purchasing it from the mine you avoid the wholesalers but still pay a lot for bagged "Halite".

I will tell you unless you have a garage where you can keep the palleted salt out of the weather and have a dehumidifier running from day 1 you put the salt into storage and the first day of freezing temperatures you are going to have problems because the HDPE 4 bags are not moisture proof and unless you are willing to buy halite in packed in buckets
    you will have problems-