1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Getting a Snow Removal Company Started

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by kingkong0192, Oct 16, 2011.

1. kingkong0192

kingkong0192 Junior Member

I am quite new to the whole art of snow removal. I've been browsing around different forums for a while now trying to figure out the best way to plow snow. I will be plowing snow mostly from residential driveways. Most of them vary in length, but i'd say most are around a 1/4 mile (give or take). I live in Connecticut, and we do get a fair amount of snow.

I was thinking about purchasing either a Bobcat 773G or an S185. I would of course buy the machine used with around 1-2k hours. After researching this i realized that was only half the battle. Nobody seems to be able to agree on what the best thing to push snow with a Bobcat is. I'm pretty sure it's just a personal preference, but i may be wrong about that. The argument seems to be between a snow pusher around 8' long (another debate on the size of the pusher), a regular toothless bucket, and a Bobcat snow blade (and of course they're people who debate whether a straight blade or a V-blade is better). I also heard about the snow blower attachment, but in my opinion, it's a bit too expensive. However, if it's light snow, id imagine that thing clears driveways super fast.

After all that i was thinking about buying a beat around truck (either a 1500 or a 2500) to put a plow on just to push snow at a much faster rate than the Bobcat would be capable of. How does my plan sound?