1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Get a back up or not?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by progmc, Nov 1, 2004.

1. progmc

progmc Member

Well heres the deal Ive been plowing for 2 years now and Ive only had 5-6 drives the past two. How ever this year I will have more time and hope to get more. I have a 1987 dodge dakota with a 6 1/2 foot western plow on it. Now I need to decide if I should put a plow on my 1995 gmc 1500. I just cant decide if it will be worth it or not. What do you guys think. Thanks for any help.
    Also I can get a 7 1/2 foot sno way plow for $1000 to $1200 that is two years old with the mount. That is if I can talk my buddy to buy the truck that it is on.

2. Mick

Mick PlowSite.com Veteran
    from Maine

Imagine yourself sitting in your truck, broke down on the way to your next customer. It's 6:00AM and she needs to leave for work at 6:30. What's it worth to be able to grab that second truck and go plow her driveway so she can get out? Is it worth your reputation for reliability? You just answered your own question.

3. progmc

progmc Member

I really understand what your saying the only thing that Im unsure of is if I will get any more jobs or not. I also have a guy that could bail me out if I get in a bind but then again whos to say that when the time comes he will or not. Thanks for the reply I think I will end up putting a plow on the gmc. Also what do you guys think of those sno ways. Is $1000-$1200 a good deal for a couple year old plow?

4. The Boss

The Boss 2000 Club Member

Another option would be to have a sub on standby. That way if something happens, they can cover for you. I've got about 6 people ready to help at all times.