1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

General Liability In MA

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by npupko, Nov 14, 2013.

1. npupko

npupko Junior Member
    from MA

I have been plowing for many years (residential & commercial) using a company truck for many years and decided that this year I wanted to put my truck to use and work as a sub.

On of the requirements is to gave snow plow insurance/general liability insurance. I called my agent and she quoted me $3,750/yr. paid in full (no payment plan). She said that I would have to be placed in a pool and couldn't give me a company name.

I have a 2010 F350 Reg. Cab with 8' Boss VXT Plow.

Any suggestions? That is, in my opinion, way to much.

Thanks!

2. CashinH&P

CashinH&P Senior Member

I pay 1200 a year for my gen. liabilty insurane, granted it is for landscapeing and plowing all year not just for the plowing season.

3. npupko

npupko Junior Member
    from MA

Wow really. I was quoted $3750/yr for 1mil/2mil and $3000/yr for 500k/1mil. all paid up front and that's just for snow plowing. I don't know why the price is so different.

4. Sabsan84

Sabsan84 Senior Member

I would shop around, that sounds insane, for just general liability insurance should be 1 third of that. Unless you were talking insurance for the truck, but it still shouldn't be that high, even if you had a new tandem axle peterbilt w a plow!

5. MSsnowplowing

MSsnowplowing Senior Member

check out GLquote.com for your general liablity insurance.

You don't have to pay upfront the whole cost and can make monthly payments.

6. npupko

npupko Junior Member
    from MA

That is just for a GL standalone policy.