1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

gas stations, a little help please?

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by zippoz, Jan 11, 2005.

1. zippoz

zippoz Member

in in somewhat of a situation here. let me lay it out for ya
    this is my first year plowing. i started out the season with a 87 jeep with 6 1/2 plow and 2 contracts. 1 comercial lot, and one gas station.
    sonce then i managed to pick up about 7 more gas stations all owned by one group.
    after speaking to them they are willing to contract about 20 of these stations to me in the chicago land area, from the south suburbs to the south side of the city. being that as of now it is taking me about an hour and 20 monutes per station i can do the 7 i have now in about 9 hours. and doing the other ones would require me to get another truck and a driver.

basically i was wondering if pickiung up these other gas stations is a good idea. im charging about $50- $65 per site depending on if they have a car wash and using 100 lbs of salt on each one. but they are taking me a long time to clear. most of them have 4 entrances to them. and when you cinsider that they are 24 hour stations and that there is traffic most of the time its kind of a pain in the ass.

im wondering a few things,

am i charging too little?
    are they taking me too long? how long do yours take you?
    abd do you tink i should take the other stations, and if so at what price?
  2. Chainlink

Chainlink Member
    from Vermont