1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

gas price on the rise

Discussion in 'Business Fundamentals' started by PTTP08, Jan 1, 2011.

1. PTTP08

PTTP08 Senior Member
    from mn

Gas prices are never gonna go down or stay at the same price for a long time. I heard a rumor that it might reach the 5 dollar mark by this summer!! I am the small guy I have been plowing some accounts for 5 years and it is getting to the point I have to raise my price do to gas cost. I am scared that I might lose these accounts do to this. A big nation wide company like brinkman came in and I lost 2 accounts. My question is this are people doing a gas ser charge? or just adjusting the bid for the gas price? Or what are other small guys doing about this?

2. bristolturf

bristolturf Senior Member

in our contract we have a line that states:

salt and ice melt products are based upon market price an availalbility. Salt products are a commodity, and therefore price may increase, or the product may not be available for application at all times. We reserve the right to raise all prices up to but not exceeding 5% for every 1$ the price of fuel increases.

We also have our own tanks of fuel so there is never any questions or comments like well cant you go to this station to fill up they are really cheap. If a question arose about the fuel increase I would be more than willing to show the customer to purchase order for the last fill up and the current fill up. And as soon as prices dip back into the normal range, we take the fuel surcharge off.

3. slave2lawns

slave2lawns Member