1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Funny story...

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by bighornjd, Jan 13, 2011.

1. bighornjd

bighornjd Senior Member

My brother in-law put a used plow on his truck this year. He had one before but sold it and he has helped me with snow in the past so he's not a total newb. He can't commit to much in the way of accounts due to his full-time job. Got the plow cheap and uses it to do the private road they live on and a few driveways for family and friends. Doesn't do them for free but charges a reasonable price and mostly does it because he enjoys it. His girlfriend works at a daycare center and he was telling me a few weeks ago that she said they were looking for someone to plow the lot. I asked why they were still looking for someone so late in the season and told him he would be wise not to touch it without the proper liability insurance. He more or less agreed but I wasn't sure if he intended to do it anyway or not.:rolleyes: A few days ago I asked if he had heard any more about it. He said "Yeah they're still looking for somebody but they don't want to pay anything." I thought maybe that meant they didn't want to pay what it was worth and asked what he meant. Well, he meant just what he said. They are looking for someone to plow AND salt the lot for FREE! This is a church/daycare with 2 lots, 1 on each side of the building, with 2 entrances off a busy main road. At least 30 min worth of plowing with a pickup and straight blade even in a light snow, probably more like 40-45 especially to throw salt.