1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Fuel Consumption Per Hour Figures?

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by JPO, Jan 24, 2007.

1. JPO

JPO Junior Member

At this point I'm new to the industry and I'm doing some costing figures. The figure I need is how much fuel, in my case gasoline, is the truck going to consume per hour while plowing. Now I realize that there are a million variables but if I could get a ballpark figure it would help me out tremendously. Right now I'm making an uneducated guess that it will use 40-60 litres/hr (10-15gal/hr). Like I said I'm not looking to get a rocket science type formulated equation down to the nearest millionth of a decimal point, just a ballpark figure.

Here's the specs on the truck;
    • 1995 GMC K2500HD 4x4
    • 5.7L Gas
    • Automatic
    • 1994 Meyer 7.5' w/E-60 (800lbs)
    • 600lbs Ballast in bed

Any help at all is appreciated. Thanks guys!

2. CAG80

CAG80 Member
    from ct

i really don't have any real #'s for u, so many things will factor into the hour/mileage.. if u need an idea to start at i say cut your fuel mileage in half from what u get normally driving in town and i guess maybe 3-6 gallons per hour.. the 10-15gal per hour is way high...

3. LoneCowboy

LoneCowboy PlowSite.com Addict

I haven't plowed much at all with the new truck
    but many moons and years ago
    a 92 F250 HD, 351
    1.5 yards of sand (talk about ballast), 8' western plow with wings.
    I could plow 12 to 18 hours before it really started getting below 1/4 tank (two tanks)
    it probably held 20+ gallons

So, 1.5 gallons an hour? maybe?

4. CAG80

CAG80 Member
    from ct