1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

frozen salt

Discussion in 'Ice Management' started by Chaser13114, Jan 10, 2004.

1. Chaser13114

Chaser13114 Senior Member

I'm not new to plowing, or sanding for that matter, but I am new to the salt thing.

I operate three v box sanders using a high grit sand material only. Last year a new account requested salt. I started buying a sand salt mix last year and found it to work well however was very expensive as compared to sand or even straight salt. I started buying straight salt by the pallet which was cheaper but cumbersome to mix with sand.

This year I have hooked up with a bulk salt distributer and I am buying salt by the ton cheaper than the sand salt mix last year. I mix my own sand/salt and it works well.

Here is the problem. I have a pile (40,000 lbs) of salt stored inside a building which is frozen into one huge block. I also filled numerous garbage cans to distrbute to variuos sites which too are frozen solid. Buying salt in bulk is far cheaper and easier for my opertaion to handle, however what can be done to help this freeze problem?

Next year maybe I'll buy it earlier in the season allowing it to dry inside but that won't help the mid winter refill I expect. Is their a treatment that will prevent this? I read up about Magic and it wasn't clear if it would solve this problem. It also sounds expensive. Any cheaper options?

I'm also considering a tailgate spreader to use with just salt for those ocasions when a sand salt truck is not close by or avilalable. Will this bulk salt go through a salter like a 600# Buyers or simuliar? Can I store it in the unit for any amount of time?

Any advice is appriciated.

2. GeoffD