1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Front Sway Bar Bushings

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by DeereFarmer, Dec 25, 2010.

1. DeereFarmer

DeereFarmer PlowSite Veteran

Got a great Christmas present this morning, the front sway bar broke off on my '95 F350. The bushing that attatched the sway bar to the passenger side tire sheared in half, so now my truck is stuck 1/2 a mile out in my field. How do you fix a bushing like that? Is it an easy fix where I can do it out in the field, or is it more involved? I've never done one before.

2. linckeil

linckeil PlowSite.com Addict
    from CT

you sure its the sway bar and not the track bar? i've seen people confuse them before. the sway bar was optional, but the track bar was standard on all F350s.

if its the sway bar, just remove it entirely. its easy to take off and you won't even notice its gone. new bushings are available, but are installed a heck of a lot easier if the bar is removed. put it back on whenever you get around to it.

if its the track bar, you need this. without it, or if it has bad bushings, you will likely experience the "death wobble" at certain speeds.

but i don't know how a broken sway bar or track bar bushing would leave a truck stranded? it can be done in a field, but why? if the truck is mobile, put it on pavement to work on it. either job is no big deal. but finding the part you need on Christmas day might be tough!!:eek:

check out post #74 in the attached thread. third picture down. the track bar is at the top of the photo to the left of the driveshaft. simple straight bar with a bushing on each end. the sway bar is the curved round bar in the center of the cardboard with the holes on each end,