1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

front springs, where are they

Discussion in 'Commercial Snow Removal' started by PRO PROPERTY CARE, Jun 3, 2003.

1. ok,,, im a pretty good home mechanic.
    I have rebuilt a classic car , from the ground up....
    my new truck, 2003 chevy 2500 HD. with the snow prep package
    says heavy duty front springs,,,, oh ya,, ok ,, where the heck are
    the front srpings.
    I crawled under the truck, and there are no front springs, only
    shocks..........am I missing something....

CARDOCTOR PlowSite.com Addict

torsion bars?
    from control arm to cross member

3. snowjoker

snowjoker Senior Member

I think the statement should say heavy duty torsion bars instead of springs, because the late model GM trucks do not have springs. I you look under the truck you should see 2 bars that run parallel to the frame up to the right and left side of the front end.
  4. wyldman

wyldman Member

Damn,don't tell me they forgot the springs !! ;)

You don't and shouldn't have any,your truck uses torsion bars,which are spring steel tubes which twist.They mount into the lower control arm pivot area,and extend back under the truck,and mount to the frame with mount.There is an adjuster at the mount,so you can turn them up a bit,if it sags too much.

I would get a set of Timbrens,and put them on before you mount the plow,it will help keep the front end up when plowing,which saves wear and tear on the front end.