1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Front GAWR

Discussion in 'Residential Snow Removal' started by Z71, Aug 9, 2014.

1. Z71

Z71 Junior Member

Hi, I am new to plowing and need some info. I have a 99 Ext Cab Sierra 2500 short box NBS that I plan to plow with. I want to buy a new boss plow setup and I'm looking at the standard duty 7.6 straight blade or the super duty 7.6 straight blade. The boss website says "Requires Minimum 4500# front GAWR. VYU package required.". I don't have the VYU plow prep and my door sticker that would tell me my GAWR is gone, Is there another way I can find out my GAWR?

2. 1olddogtwo

1olddogtwo PlowSite Fanatic

How do you know u don't have it?

Run your Vin thru Chevy, they should be able to tell what you got.

3. Z71

Z71 Junior Member

I looked in the glovebox for it with the rest of the RPO codes and it isn't there

4. Z71

Z71 Junior Member

5. JustJeff

JustJeff 2000 Club Member

Yes you can, you'll just be over your front end weight rating, but that doesn't mean anything. Most of us on here are overweight with our plows. If you have a three quarter ton truck with a diesel the only thing any of the manufacturers will suggest is a seven and a half foot plow, but almost all of us have much larger than that. You can either run whatever plow you want as is, or you can spend a couple of bucks on timbrens, air bags, larger springs or many other things to give you peace of mind.

6. SnowGuy73

SnowGuy73 PlowSite Fanatic

Agreed.......

7. Z71

Z71 Junior Member