1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Front diff 410 rear 373.....

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by gotsnow?, Mar 19, 2009.

1. gotsnow?

gotsnow? Senior Member

I'm looking at a 84 Chevy 2500, seller says the front differantial is 410 gearing and the rear is 373..... Is this gonna cause any problems when locked in 4x4??? I would think so, but what do I know... let me know guys!
  2. Western1

Western1 Senior Member
    from MI.

No Expert

I am no expert but the front should match the rear. You could check it by jacking it up and spinning the wheels and counting the turns on the front and rear shafts. Sounds fishy!:jester:
  3. NBI Lawn

NBI Lawn PlowSite.com Addict

Is it a "mud truck"?
  4. ABES

ABES PlowSite.com Addict
    from MN

Yes it will cause severe drivetrain problems if 4x4 is used.
  5. JDiepstra

JDiepstra PlowSite.com Addict

That's for sure. Imagine the fronts going 40 mph and the rears passing them at 45mph????????? :eek:
  6. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic

You better believe it. Don't pull the stick back until you have them matched or at least verify the sellers remarks.
  7. JDiepstra

JDiepstra PlowSite.com Addict

I suppose you could throw some 315's on the front and some 265's on the rear and hope it fixes things?????????:dizzy:

Water would just run right out the back of your bed that way and you would look like you were accelerating real fast all the time! wesport
  8. gotsnow?

gotsnow? Senior Member

How much would it cost me to change the gearing in either one?? I don't really care if its 410 all the way around or 373.