1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

front axle

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by ironman_bmfc, May 29, 2003.

1. ironman_bmfc

ironman_bmfc Junior Member

I am new to the 4x4 scene and have a few questions. I have an 87 Chevy Scottsdale and I am trying to find out what kind of front axle is in it. I also have a real bad shake in the front end when I hit 35-40 mph and goes until about 60-65. It almost feels like I have a wheel that loose. I had some one tell me to check my ball joints but when I looked at them they were not bad. When I bought the truck it had a warped rotor that was causing a shake upon braking. I want to dump some money into this truck, how do I know if the truck is worth it? I have worked on cars before and currently have a company that mods PWC. So I know my way around a garage ... just not sure what to make of all the 4x4 componants. If any one could give some advice I would appreciate it. Thanks.

2. ironman_bmfc

Transmissions

I have a question about transmissions. I looked to see what kind I have and all it says is hydromatic. I looked at chucks site and didn't see anything there about them. What kind is it and is it garbage?

3. plowking35

plowking35 2000 Club Member
    from SE CT

Hello and welcome to plowsite.