1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Ford truck, ticking noise

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by bossman34, May 2, 2012.

1. bossman34

bossman34 Member

I have been pondering what it is that is making a ticking noise in my 2003 5.4 F250. The engine has 120,000 miles on it and runs great. But at idle when your outside the truck or next to a building with the window open. The noise is faily loud and is driving me nuts. I am a mechanic and have been for 15 years but this is my first 5.4 and dont know much history on it. Any one else have or had any issues like this. Thanks

2. USMCMP5811

USMCMP5811 Senior Member

Check your exhaust manifolds. They're notorious for breaking manifold studs causing leaks at the head.

3. bossman34

bossman34 Member

Ya I do know that one, one of the reasons I bought this truck is the heads were done at the dealer just before I got it. So it has new studs and nuts. This is more of a metalic noise like a lifter tick. Not sure what's under the valve cover or how the overhead cams work the valves in this engine.

4. tjctransport

tjctransport PlowSite.com Addict

if i remember correctly, that is the cam phaser making the noise.

5. trqjnky

trqjnky Senior Member

WINNAR!!! If its a gas engine that sounds like a diesel, its a cam phaser. and i have just the tool for you!!! the timing chain wedge is 126 dollars new. i used it once on a customer car and dont see myself needing it again anytime soon. ill selll it to you for 80!

6. dieseltimmy

dieseltimmy Junior Member