1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

Flushing Meyer Pumps

Discussion in 'Meyer / Diamond Products Discussion' started by Brucester1, Nov 23, 2009.

1. Brucester1

Brucester1 Senior Member

i am new to Meyer plows.i want to flush the pump on a used plow i just bought. i was told to use seafoam. has anyone ever done this? any advice would be appreciated. thank you.

2. dts

dts Junior Member

i flushed mine other day. I just pulled the drain plug and waited all was out then put little new hydro in to make sure all out.and mine works fine..

3. Deco

Deco Senior Member

drain it . fill it with regular tranny fluid . run it again . drain it . use only meyer hydraulic fluid . reason being is that regular trans fluid has Paraffin (wax) in it and tends to harden up the lower the temperature which Meyers pumps dont like .
    also SEARCH how to flush your power angle rams on the blade! have fun , relax and enjoy making great $ during the winter .
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paraffin

Last edited: Nov 24, 2009
  4. Sonic Buzz

Sonic Buzz Member

i used kerosene an then put meyer fluid back in mine i do that every year

5. carl b

carl b PlowSite.com Addict
    from Ohio

I use spray brake cleaner . than flush with s.a.m. fill, run don't forget the filters

6. Kenyou

Kenyou Senior Member

Who would know better than the company that makes the plows. They want you to use the stuff that makes their plows really shine.